When a plot goes wrong

I have a book that I love dearly sitting here unfinished, begging to be written. I get the most positive feedback from readers for this book, the most interest in reading the completed version, and yet here it sits. The reason? A television show with a similar plot that came out after I had started my book. Now, I know that my idea was original, but I seriously doubt anyone would believe me. So in order to save my book I have to change my plan for it. I’ve let it sit unfinished for too long.

SLEEPING SARAH is a MG  fantasy about a family of very special children who discover the magic of the written word.

As I query CAROUSEL I will begin to write SLEEPING SARAH again. I’m excited about the change in audience–I love writing for younger readers. I’m also excited that I get to imagine new adventures for my precious characters. The sky is the limit now…

~ by Rachel McMahon on October 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
