In Limbo…

I have five working projects right now, and I’m stuck on all of them, mostly because I’m looking into really starting the getting published part of my journey. I have discovered that the querying process is a separate addiction from writing, one that can ultimately stop my writing in its tracks. I love the agent interviews here, and I just can’t stop reading them. Somewhere in all the mess there’s an agent who will love my books, and I enjoy the search for that person when I’m not letting the stress get to me.

I’m wondering now at what point I should stop revising and submit my manuscript with confidence. I’m not sure I’ll ever reach a point where there’s nothing I can change. What I wrote a few weeks ago might not sound as good to me today, but often I can’t tell if that’s because it isn’t written well or if it’s just because I’ve read it so many times that it has simply gotten old.

What’s even more difficult for me is deciding which of my projects has the best chance of being accepted first. Should I start with a series or a single novel? Would I have more success with my YA/Fantasy or my MG novel? First person, third person, male or female point of view? I’ve gotten so caught up in trying to decide which book to finish first that I can’t focus on any of them. I think I need an agent to help me get an agent.

~ by Rachel McMahon on October 13, 2010.

7 Responses to “In Limbo…”

  1. just FINISH one!! once you have a nice lump of something with an ending, you can polish it and work on the others with more confidence while shopping for an agent with the knowledge of having a semi-solid piece of SOMETHING that is pretty much complete. give yourself the confidence of an ending, just ONE ending, and your worry will abate….

  2. Thanks! I should have said five besides my finished one. I just keep revising it, though.

  3. you have to put it in a drawer. you’ll chop it till there’s nothing left. stop revising and call it good!!! i obsessively revise, so i understand – but once you’re too locked in to revising, you’ll fail to recognize the times when you do more damage than good 🙂

  4. I’m afraid that’s true for me! I’m searching for an agent now…

    Thanks for your input!

  5. There is nothing wrong with your finished story. It sounds like you’re just bored with it since you’ve read it so much. I have the same problem and after awhile I doubt if it was ever good. Anyways keep writing. If you get bored with one or stuck on another take a step back. I find that my best ideas come to me when I’m driving or taking a walk.

  6. Driving seems to do it for me, too. I’m giving myself some time to do some other things, and then I’ll attack it again with fresh eyes. I have found an agent I want to query, but I don’t want to mess it up.

  7. Oh, and I started your book today…I’m intrigued!!!

Leave a Reply

 
