My favorite author

I have many favorites, actually, but one always stands out when I think of the kind of writer I would like to be. Robert Jordan. I, like so many others, am waiting less-than-patiently for the next book to come out, and I just learned that it will be available soon. The reasons why I love the Wheel of Time series are so many that I would have to post about each book to get through it all, but I can sum it up nicely with one word. Characters. Oh, to be able to write characters the way he did! I think I could read an entire scene filled with his characters and always know who was speaking without him ever having to clarify simply because I know them all so well. The way they speak, the way they think…

My favorite character is Nynaeve. She’s me, I think, right down to the way she yanks on her hair when she’s annoyed, which is often.

If you haven’t read the series and you love fantasy, pick it up! You won’t be disappointed.

~ by Rachel McMahon on October 14, 2010.

2 Responses to “My favorite author”

  1. I haven’t yet read the Wheel of Time, but the first book has been sitting on my shelf unread for years. It seems like a crime, so I think I’ll bump it up the reading list a bit.

  2. Oh, yes! Do!

Leave a Reply

 
