Gabe’s Elephant Book

Two days ago Gabe did what he so often does. He asked for something and simply expected it to exist. Normally when he does this, the thing he wants to see can be found on the internet. Or, as he puts it, “It’s at dot com!” But this time he wanted an elephant book that said exactly what he wanted it to. My husband’s solution?

“Mom will make one for you!”

So yesterday when Gabe got home from school he was ready for his book. Promises don’t go unkept around here. I did what any good photographer mom would do and opened up my Photoshop software. Gabe is a bit of a photoshop expert himself, so he was right by my side to tell me what he wanted. Thankfully, it was a simple project. I had already made stamps for him that he uses on backgrounds I created. He can add animals until it’s full and then hit revert to start over. Of course the elephant stamp came in very handy for his book. He wrote it himself, word for word, and I typed it in and tweaked his characters as he saw fit.

 

 

He was so happy with it that he read it over and over. I’ve spent years trying to perfect my books, and I’ve never felt about any of them the way he feels about his book. It makes me wonder if I’m going about my writing the wrong way. He wrote what he loved, and it made him happy. It was that simple for him. As usual, I’m the one who’s learning from him.

~ by Rachel McMahon on November 3, 2010.

15 Responses to “Gabe’s Elephant Book”

  1. What a great story!

  2. that is awesome!

  3. Awwww how wonderful!!!

  4. You did a great job, babe. Gabe was sooo happy.

  5. Thanks y’all!

    He really was happy. He took it to show his teachers today.

  6. Absolutely awesome!

    Kelly

  7. Loved the story and loved the illustrations!! Good Job, Gabe!!

  8. Oh, how sweet! I loved it, too. Great job to both of you!

  9. I’m anonymous…forgot to type in my name…duh!

  10. What a precious story (on two levels, I guess)!

  11. Thanks y’all! I’m proud of my little guy.

  12. It’s just amazing how his mind works! You know to write a great story, you have to play the “what if?” game; just like Gabe did!

  13. This is too cute. 🙂 There’s a lesson in there too, I think.

  14. Yes, I hope so, Dr. Snarky!

  15. Wonderful!

    ~Em~

Leave a Reply

 
