Here I come, Sam.

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been working on projects around the house, and as a result, I haven’t gotten much writing done. Some days it seems that the ideas flow so freely that I can hardly type fast enough to get them all down. Those are my favorite days, the days when I’m so deep in my stories that reality can’t even get a foothold. I have the power to change things for my characters that I feel like I can’t change for myself. I can make good come out of bad. So it’s no wonder that after several days stuck firmly in reality my mood has soured. My characters are almost like members of my family, and when we’re apart too long I start to miss them. I miss them now. I miss believing in magic and happy endings. I miss getting a much needed break from the everyday annoyances and stresses in my life. I want to spend today with Sam and Millie, because I actually know how to fix their problems. Sam is my favorite. Every day with him feels like Saturday.

~ by Rachel McMahon on November 5, 2010.

7 Responses to “Here I come, Sam.”

  1. I love you

  2. I know. You’re my all-grown-up Sam.

  3. I understand what you’re talking about. There are some days when I can’t seem to type fast enough. Then there are other days when I wonder if I’ll ever have another idea.

  4. And don’t you hate those days?

  5. Yep,those are the days when I question if I’m good enough to be a writer.

  6. My sweet Rachel….I don’t know that I have ever been so deeply touched or moved! I can hardly see to type this because of these wonderful tears. The truth is…I still do what I’ve always done because of the students like you who graced my life at a point in my journey and then never left…I love you beyond measure! Thanks…a little word but filled with more heart than you can imagine! And just for the record….as long as I have breath…you can show up at the door any time…it will always be open!

  7. Thanks, Wiz. I love you!

Leave a Reply

 
