All Smiles Today…So Far

I feel like someone slipped me some Felix Felicis today; everything just keeps going better than planned. I won’t list all the little things. That would be really boring. But a stream of nice surprises all in a row is something I’m not accustomed to, so I thought I should go ahead and write my blog entry for the day before the piano falls on my head.

SAM AND MILLIE is coming along nicely. I’ve changed my writing system on this one, which is to say that I actually have a system. I have a tendency to start a book without knowing how I’m going to end it, but this time I wanted to be a little more disciplined. The last moment of the story has been written in my head since the day I started the book, and I’ve been pleasantly surprised at the difference it’s made. It’s very much like setting goals when you start a workout program; it helps to know where you’re headed. I know what I want each of my characters to learn, and I’m focused on their growth as I write. Suddenly the plot is not the main focus, but rather a vehicle to carry my characters where they need to be. And the result is, I think, a much better story. At the very least, it’s a character driven story, which is one thing I see a lot of agents asking for.

And on that note, my agent search has ground to a temporary halt. I’ve put CAROUSEL aside for now, so I have nothing to submit. I learned a lot from my first venture into the publishing world, though. I have a lot of respect for anyone who has ever managed to get published, whether or not I like their writing. I had no idea when I started just how hard it is get published, or even to get an agent. I will give it another go when I finish SAM AND MILLIE, and hopefully I won’t make as many mistakes the second time around.

~ by Rachel McMahon on November 16, 2010.

2 Responses to “All Smiles Today…So Far”

  1. I never would have guessed that you didn’t have your stories mapped out before you started any of them. I’m glad to hear that you’re writing. Can’t wait to see how Sam and Millie turns out.

  2. I hope your next round of queries goes better. It’s a soul-crushing process. Save some of the felix felicis for that day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
