Keeping up Appearances

I overheard someone say to one of the trainers today, “I don’t care about building muscle. I just want to get toned.” It was funny, because I had just been discussing this issue with my husband this morning after hearing my SS teacher say something about it Sunday. I don’t recall exactly what he said, but I remember being intrigued by it, since he seemed to be saying that “getting toned” is nonsense. I wanted to know what he meant, so it’s been on my mind a lot since then. And I think I get it. Or at least, I got something out of it, whether or not it was what he meant.

In the past when I’ve set out to lose weight or “get toned,” it has always been about my appearance, and I’ve always quit before I reached my goals. I think I understand why now. It’s very hard to get deep into something when it’s so shallow to start with. Why set a goal based on wanting to look better when you can set a goal based on wanting to BE better? In the end, if I’m giving my body what it needs, I will look better, but that should not be my motivation. It’s a motivation that focuses on something that can’t last, and eventually, my determination will fizzle. I don’t need to look in the mirror to decide whether or not what I’m doing is worth the effort, because I can feel it. I’m so excited about this new perspective that I can’t wait to apply it to other areas of my life.

~ by Rachel McMahon on January 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
