Dusting things off

There’s one good way to see if I’ve been writing. Just look for dust. Dust in my house, dust on my camera, and even dust in my blog. Ideas for things to write here have come and gone, but I haven’t found my way back in for some time now. And here’s why.

At the beginning of September I started a book titled Under. I finished it on September 13th at 45,000 words. Just a first draft, but complete. As I’ve said in other posts, I try to step away from a draft for at least six weeks. So I started a new project.

I took a few days off and then began work on Wicket, which I finished on October 5th at 59,000 words. I had expected to kill at least six weeks writing that one, but it just didn’t happen. So I started my third new project. Restorer. I finished it on October 17th. See the trend? I still hadn’t killed six weeks, and Restorer ended up being 63,000 words.

Enter project number 4, my newest book, which has no title. And I won’t say what it’s about, because I want it to be all mine. It’s at 60,000 words and not close to being finished.

So while I haven’t been here, shoving my opinions down your throats or amusing you with my crazy life, I have been busy writing, honing my craft, and I’ll admit, losing touch with reality a little bit. I’ll be back here, I’m sure, when this tidal wave of words leaves me, but for now I just don’t want to stop. I may never get a rush like this again.

Under. Young adult to adult fantasy. This is a ghost story, but not the typical one. I can’t say more without ruining it. It’s the first in a planned series.

Wicket. Young adult. This one turned into a bit of a romance, not my usual style, but it has some twists and turns that I’m proud of. It will not be a series.

Restorer. Young adult to adult fantasy. My favorite ever right now. It’s the one I will query first, I think, and it’s definitely going to be a series.

Untitled. Also young adult fantasy. I think I’ve left middle grade behind for good.

As always, if you want to read for me, shoot me an email or leave a comment here.

~ by Rachel McMahon on November 9, 2011.

3 Responses to “Dusting things off”

  1. Rachel – I’d be glad to read for you anytime. I’m working day shifts now (FINALLY!!) so I’ll be much more alert and attentive than last time.

    BTW – Since I went to days, I’ve finally started putting some real time into my book! (YAY!)

  2. Well done, Rachel! One of the biggest obstacles for writers is the ability and discipline to sit down and pound it out. Sounds like you got that licked. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

 
